God Is Real

by kingteamdad

I will never leave you nor forsake you.(Deuteronomy 31:8)

RAMBLINGS from Evan’s dad – When Evan and his siblings were younger they loved to play hide and seek. They do even now with flashlights in the woods, but when they were smaller it was “simpler”. On multiple occasions they would find what they thought was a good hiding place. Which meant it took me a few minutes to find them in the house. Often they liked it so well, that they would use it again, and again, and again.

I can see why they might question my intelligence when over and over they would hide in the same place and yet I couldn’t find them very easily. šŸ˜‰ It should have been easier, especially with the giggling that often accompanied it. Numerous times I remember opening a closet door and little Evan, with a big smile on his face, would have his eyes closed tightly. What most adults don’t know is if you close your eyes, they can’t see you. Time and time again, I would open the closet door where I heard giggling Evan, only to find no one there, in front of the clothes, squatting, with his hands over his eyes. It was some of the early stealth technology.

Only as they got older did this old dad learn how to find them when they used those magical powers.

I think a large percentage of adults are the same way with God. Often we are upset or distraught about things. Finances are in the red. Health is abysmal. Life looks bleak. The world is “going to Hell in a hand basket”. Obviously God is not around because we don’t see Him. Ā Nor is He making Himself known to us. So if we don’t see Him, He is not there. In fact, maybe He doesn’t even exist.

When in reality, we are acting like 3 year olds. We are closing our eyes to what is around us. Sometimes we are even closing them tight, and then putting our hands over them! “I don’t see God! He must not love me.” “I don’t see Him, maybe He doesn’t even exist!”

We need to grow up! We need to open our eyes. God is not trying to play hide and seek with us. He wants us to find Him. Sometimes we just need to look a littleā€¦often times He is right behind us, waiting for us to turn around and run to Himā€¦.

P9140194

It is theĀ LordĀ who goes before you. He will be with you; He will not leave you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed. (Deuteronomy 31:8 ESV)

