Letting Go of the Eternally Useless

by kingteamdad

All that is not eternal is eternally useless.”-C.S.Lewis

RAMBLINGS from Lacy’s dad – Lacy and her siblings went with us on several different mission trips to South America. We loved the people we met in Peru and Colombia. They were kind precious people. Some we still keep in touch with by email and Facebook.

We felt so fortunate to be able to go to those places and share the story of God’s love. The little ones with wide eyes, who took everything in, looked like little cherubs. Many of them were not clean, spending much time on the street. After a while though, I think God allowed me to catch glimpses of them through His eyes. The really dirty ones that didn’t smell as nice, I noticed still had a sense of awe in their eyes. It was almost like their souls were saying “yes, I matter, too!”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We often found ourselves winding down our day of ministry wanting to do “one more stop” so we could tell a few more people about Jesus and the hope He offers.  We were totally exhausted by the time we crawled in to our beds each night. When laying in the hard beds trying to get comfortable, we would often remind ourselves that it was only a mission trip. The cold breakfast roll we got most mornings with a little butter and jelly tasted so good as we tried to make it last an extra few bites. Some of the street vendors we bought food from during the trip, I am sure would not be up to code back here in the states. But after all, it was only a mission trip.

Each time we returned and we drove back up our driveway I was elated to be home. It is where I can be myself with surroundings I am familiar. It is where I find my family, the people I love most. When I pulled up to the garage our yellow lab always greeted me, wildly wagging her tail with approval that we were home.

As I sit here, I am reminded that even though we have lived here 10 years, this is not my home either. Have we made friends here? Sure. Have we had fellowship with local believers here? Absolutely. But this world is not our home. This is not the end of our life’s story. This is only the prequel to what we have in store when we truly go home, where we will be greeted by our Saviour…because this is only a mission trip!….

…as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal. (2 Corinthians 4:18 ESV)

