To Hear God, Get Near Him

by kingteamdad

“He obeyed God, who warned him about things that had never happened before.” (Hebrews 11:7a NLT)

RAMBLINGS from Evan’s dad – We have lived in this house for over 10 years. When we first moved from our nice manicured neighborhood, out here in “the woods”, it was a little spooky at night. With all the trees it got really dark and that was very different from our previous home. So Kris took Evan and his siblings to buy an “outside” dog. We ended up with two, beautiful little yellow lab puppies. We had been told by a friend that they would keep each other company outside.

We built them a nice 40 x 50 pen, and filled it with a nice insulated house, and plenty of chew toys. The kids had two new friends to play with and all was well with the world.

One night about 2:00 in the morning I was awakened by a very loud knocking on our front door. I cautiously peeked around the corner and saw a sheriff’s deputy standing outside our door. I disarmed our alarm and opened the door to a very upset deputy. It seems neighbors through the woods, several hundred yards away, had called to complain about our two very vocal labs. The deputy had been driving around for an hour trying to figure out where we lived. She was NOT a happy camper.

An hour later I was laying in bed trying to go back to sleep totally befuddled. You see we had been clueless the dogs were barking. We were on the other end of our house from the dogs. And Kris and I both like some white noise at night, so we sleep with a fan that purrs in the corner of our room.

The next day Kris made fliers with an adorable picture of our dogs, and “they” apologized for being loud. She stuck it in every mailbox she could find anywhere remotely near us.

I wonder how often I don’t hear God for the same reason? Maybe I am too far away. Or maybe I have too much noise going on around me to be able to hear Him. Over the years I have learned if I am not up early reading His word, praying, and listening for Him, before everything else gets going, the chances of hearing Him become infinitesimal!  Once the kids are up, once the phone starts ringing, I do good to hear the dogs barking!…..

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These are the generations of Noah. Noah was a righteous man, blameless in his generation. Noah walked with God.  (Genesis 6:9 ESV)

