Wise People Look Ahead

by kingteamdad

RAMBLINGS from Evan’s dad – We had a great day at mom’s house with a big Thanksgiving lunch together. Afterwards we always help decorate the house for Christmas. The kids all chip in and bring decorations up from the basement. Conversations start about Christmases past, and more memories are made. There’s a snoring Santa that still amuses the boys. The ringing bells (that drive me and Uncle Brent crazy) are still hung and occasionally played for the kids.

As they finished, Mom asked me to go downstairs with her to do a chore. She wanted me to spray vinegar on her basement walls in a few places. (don’t ask!) When we finished I had a spray bottle full of vinegar. I suddenly had a brilliant idea. Mischievous me decided to go up carrying an empty box, while holding the spray bottle underneath it. I then walked up to Evan and while talking to him, stealthily squirted him with vinegar. I smiled with pleasure and then went on to my next victim. With great satisfaction I successfully “vinegarized” all the grandkids.

The problem with spraying vinegar on 5 teenagers is when you are finished, the place smells like a pickle factory! I did not think that one through very well. :/ My siblings were ready to hang me up by my toes. Thankfully they are all too old to do that. 🙂 Kris will be the first to tell you that practical jokes are seldom thought through, before being committed.

Our loving God gives us clear instructions on how to maneuver the twists and turns in life. The book of Proverbs overflows with wisdom, if we are willing to heed it. With His instructions, we can minimize the bad decisions we might make.

I am sure if vinegar had been dealt with more clearly in Proverbs, I could have avoided that lingering olfactory annoyance….

1404742_10200969774510859_577314722_o

The wisdom of the prudent is to discern his way, but the folly of fools is deceiving.  (Proverbs 14:8)

