Christians Are a Work in Progress

by kingteamdad

We can’t even imagine what we will be like when Christ returns. But we do know that when He comes we will be like Him, for we will see Him as He really is.” (1 John 3:2 NLT)

RAMBLINGS from Lacy’s dad – I have been an Atlanta Braves fan since I was a kid. I listened and watched as Hank Aaron broke Babe Ruth’s record. I watched guys like Phil Niekro and Dale Murphy do their best, when there wasn’t much to cheer about. I was there rooting them on through the 90’s and their glory years. And yes, I watched Chipper Jones his whole career.

Lacy went to her first game in diapers. She was more interested in the lady’s pretty red shirt in front of us, then the game. She was asleep by the 7th inning, and very heavy by the time I got her back to the car! We have enjoyed a lot of games together. We cheered them on to many victories, and lamented on the defeats.

During those times we saw many “Chippers”. They were obviously Chipper because they even had their name on the back of their jersey. Some were tall, some were short, some were young, some were old, some were skinny, some were not. But they all stood up and cheered passionately when the other Chipper came up to bat, or made a great play at 3rd.

And, I am sure if you asked Chipper Jones about it, he was fine with it.

As I look back though, we seldom saw those people being Chippers away from the stadium. They reverted to being “non-Chippers”. I think they might have even gone by other names away from the stadium. How ironic.

Unfortunately, I think a lot of people are the same way about church and Christianity. They show up at church and are a “Christian”. They even wear the proper type of attire for the event. They cheer, and root for the home team. Then they go home and don’t think about it again until the next event.

And, I am sure Jesus, is NOT fine with it.

He tells us in the gospels that if we are to follow Him, we need to take up our cross daily. He also told his 12 chosen disciples that He did not come to BE served, but TO serve.

I run in to a hand full of people that strive to imitate Him every day. I see them driving trucks during the week to give food to the poor and needy. I see a few caring for the sick. I even see a few taking care of the parent-less. But unfortunately, for the majority that go on Sunday to cheer on Jesus and His story of Love and Sacrifice, most are like Chipper fans, and disappear during the week.

The good news is we are a work in progress. And unlike Chipper who retired at 40, Jesus can use us into the 70’s, 80’s or whenever He calls us home. Dr. Jim retired from medicine over 10 years ago, but still meets with guys to disciple them in their walk. I can promise you he looks a lot more like Jesus today, then he did when he started…

Warming hands by a virtual fire

Beloved, we are God’s children now, and what we will be has not yet appeared; but we know that when He appears we shall be like Him, because we shall see Him as He is.  (1 John 3:2)

