Let God Work Through You

by kingteamdad

God is working in you, giving you the desire to obey Him and the power to do what pleases Him.” (Philippians 2:13 NLT)

RAMBLINGS from Lacy’s dad –  Last night we watched Lacy’s opening night as Lady Macbeth. She was phenomenal, as was the rest of the cast. I can’t imagine being in school having to focus time and energy on memorizing hundreds of lines, while doing my regular studies.

At times I almost had to remind myself that the young lady up on stage was my daughter. Her physical appearance and looks were not that different, and from that standpoint she was easily recognizable. The big difference was the person she portrayed. If you remember Shakespeare’s story, it is a dark one of deceit and murder. Lady Macbeth was NOT a nice person. Ten minutes into the play, she literally had blood on her hands. I was blown away by the person I saw. The hatred, and self serving ways at anyone and everyone’s expense, only added to the dark message.

Afterwards, Lacy came up to us, gave us hugs, and announced she just needed to go home and watch some Mark Lowry, or Tim Hawkins comedy!

I wonder if people can tell who I am when I’m out with my business man face on? I wonder if the people we work with day in and day out, know without us saying a word, who we love and follow? Or are we too caught up in the world, its distractions, its pitfalls, and its noise? Could we be walking around with dirty hands so that people mistake us for just another Macbeth?

The reason I kept having to remind myself that it was Lacy up on stage is because she has grown in to a mature, Christ loving, Christ serving, young lady. “Lady M” and Lacy are pretty much the antithesis of each other. Knowing who Lacy really is in Christ, with the kindness she shows others, is what makes the differences even more drastic with the character she was playing on stage. 

For those of us who are followers of Jesus Christ, we need to be imitating Him as we step on to our daily stage. My prayer is people don’t see Lacy’s dad today, they see Jesus….

1380012_10151945528664082_1786799633_n

“Do all things without grumbling or disputing, that you may be blameless and innocent, children of God without blemish in the midst of a crooked and twisted generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world..”  (Philippians 2:14-15)

