A God-Fashioned Life

by kingteamdad

take on an entirely new way of life – a God-fashioned life, a life renewed from the inside and working itself into your conduct as God accurately reproduces His character in you.” (Ephesians 4:22-24 MSG)

RAMBLINGS from Connor’s dad – Connor comes home tomorrow for 10 days. We can’t wait to see him. He texted me yesterday and said we should go get some sushi while he was home. It made me smile to know he was thinking about it.

Kris and I went up and saw him recently for two days. What a transformation! He is becoming a mature young man. He still has his focus, but now we see a new spiritual fire in him that was lit at school. Maybe it was his evangelism teacher, Dr. Wheeler. Maybe it was some of the speakers at their convocations like Willie Roberts, from Duck Dynasty. Maybe it was simply him having more time through studies and devotions, to look at God’s word, and IT is refining him into the man we now see.

Living out in the country I notice how dim our little outside lights are at dusk. Those lights are so much brighter when its dark outside. As our world grows darker spiritually, those of us who are Christians, will have a greater opportunity to impact the world for Him.

I like what Rick Warren says, “God doesn’t want you to become a god, He wants you to become godly, taking on His values, attitudes, and character.”

What would our families and co-workers see today, if we went through the day with God’s values, attitudes, and character?  I think that is what I am seeing in Connor.

I guarantee you I would be a lot more patient sitting behind the steering wheel negotiating Atlanta traffic! I’d like to think people would hear a softer voice, yet one with a calm conviction. I hope that there might be a lot more inquisitive questions I’d ask people about their lives, families, health, and dreams; and a lot less beating on my chest and announcing to the world how awesome I am.

I hope there might even be more laughter. After all, He does fill that empty spot in our lives with His joy, hope, peace and love.  Seems like some of that would peek through.

A God fashioned life! That is what I am seeing in Connor!….

IMG_1580

to put off your old self, which belongs to your former manner of life and is corrupt through deceitful desires, and to be renewed in the spirit of your minds, and to put on the new self, created after the likeness of God in true righteousness and holiness. (Ephesians 4: 22-24)

