Heaven Waits For You

by kingteamdad

IMG_1861

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad – I remember when I was young and hearing about Heaven, I wasn’t that excited to go. The picture that had been painted in my mind was floating around on a cloud and playing a harp all day. Boring!!!

Later my idea of Heaven actually grew in activity to an occasional trip to a giant church, the size of Milwaukee. I guess I would play my harp on my little cloud Monday through Saturday, and then get a hall pass on Sunday to go sing in the heavenly choir. It is safe to say I was in no hurry for my “heavenly reward”!

Since those early formative years, I have had the opportunity to sit under some good teaching that enlightened me some on Heaven. Dr. Charles Stanley and Bruce Wilkinson were two of the best at giving me a good visual of what to look forward to in eternity. It is literally beyond our ability to comprehend fully.

I don’t think anyone has the capacity to do a good job imagining what Heaven is like.

Typically, I think people do the equivalent of using the image of an old school playground with a broken swing and “throw up wheel”, to imagine what Disney World is like. Maybe that is one way Satan dampens a person’s desire to want to go there. He deceives us into thinking its going to be mundane and boring. Border line torture listening to harps playing all day.

I talk with Lacy and her brothers sometime about Heaven. I think some of the things we love most here, will be there. Who knows, maybe our most favorite taste in the world will be what the air smells like to us. Maybe the wind will constantly feel like feathers gently brushing up against our skin. And of course then there is the awe of being in God’s presence.

We have been blessed to see some beautiful places around this planet. With great confidence, I think they will all pale in comparison to our eternal home. If GOD created both, and this world is groaning from the effects of sin, I can only imagine.

Maybe being there in God’s presence will give us permanent goose bumps and a soothing light that bathes us with a wonderful warmth. The rare times I lay outside in the late fall or early spring and just chill, with my face toward the warm sun, I imagine that is what Heaven is going to be like…on a bad day….

For we know that if the tent that is our earthly home is destroyed, we have a building from God, a house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens.  (2 Corinthians 5:1-2 ESV)

