Anger: Repattern Your Mind

by kingteamdad

RAMBLINGS from Evan’s dad – Evan is a young man who is very comfortable in his own skin. Recently a couple of friends did something to him that broke his trust with them. At his age I would probably have reacted by attacking them with vicious words, explaining to them in great detail why they were not fit or worthy to be my friends. I would have then gone on to tell them about every flaw they had, and then make some additional ones up.

Evan did not do that. I asked him what kept him from seeking revenge, His answer was simple, “I tried to think what Jesus would do in that situation. I mean people were in the process of murdering Him, and He was asking God to forgive them…”

Don’t get me wrong, trust had been broken, but he did not let that dictate how he would react. He was hurt, had to place a new bandaid on his knightly armor, because he had placed too much trust in someone.

I can tell even now the hurt lingers, but most would not see it. He carries on in a way to encourage those around him. Like his siblings, looking for opportunities to be kind to people, because he knows that is what Jesus did.

We often find him when not studying, outside walking around the house. Throwing his hatchet, cutting down trees, hitting rocks with an old baseball bat, and playing with our labrador. Yesterday, once again I came home and found him chill-laxing out in God’s creation. It reminded me of the time our family was on a cruise. I looked out on our balcony and saw him giving someone a thumbs up. After taking a picture, I asked him who he was talking to? His reply, “I was just looking at the ocean and telling God “good job” because it was so beautiful…”

The Bible tells us do not be conformed to this world, but be TRANSFORMED by the renewing of our mind. So that we may know the perfect will of God. I am pretty sure that’s what Evan is doing when he is outside on the ship’s balcony, or outside on our property.

Maybe I need to chill-lax with God more often.  Think people would see a different person the next time they saw me? Like Evan, I don’t want to be conformed to this world, I want to be TRANSFORMED….

4058563398_6cddbe77be_o

Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect. (Romans 12:2)

