Keep Developing Your Skills

by kingteamdad

Take the talent from him and give it to the one who has the ten talents.” (Matthew 25:28 NIV)

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad – I just got back from three days in Miami. We were in meetings all day listening to talks, followed with hands-on training. As we were wrapping up one day, I called one of my associates to see if he wanted to go for a run later. He was walking out the door about to go for a run with one of the speakers, who said he ran an 8 minute pace. I would NOT be running an 8 minute pace and told him to have fun.

I went on a leisurely run by myself and started off listening to some good “running” tunes. After a few minutes though, I paused it and started praying for people who came to mind. I prayed for my family, I prayed for co-workers, I prayed for friends in ministry, I prayed for our leaders in government, and wrapped up with people in our Sunday Bible Study Class. Upon my return to the hotel, I was soaked. A good sweat coated me from the hot and humid Miami weather. The Doral Resort was spread out and they were going through a major renovation. I came in a different entrance to the property and was unsure where my building was. A worker pointed to a beautiful building on the property to use as a landmark. It’s architecture captured my attention, helped me get my bearings and I was then able to find my way.

A few hours later I saw my associate and asked how his run went. He quickly explained the speaker was sandbagging on his running abilities. My friend, who is training for a triathlon, was whipped from trying to keep up with a runner who’s pace was in the low 7’s (not the mid-8’s)

When I talked to the speaker the next morning I complimented him on his running. He informed he had just picked it up in the last 12 months. He discovered at the age of 50, that he enjoyed running. He had embraced it, and in the past 12 months gotten pretty good at it, planning his first marathon in a couple of months. For several minutes we talked about workout regiments, running apps for our phones, and races he would like to run. This was a man who had discovered a new love, and was developing his skills in it.

I look back and wonder how many opportunities I have squandered for Christ. What skill or ability did God have waiting for me to use for His glory, that I maybe played with for a while, and then laid it to the side as another shiny object captured my attention. I grieve the times that I missed opportunities to be used by Him.

I want to be like the speaker at our meeting. With whatever time I have left, I want to embrace whatever God has given me, and develop it. To sharpen it. To refine it, so I can be like that worker who gave me directions. I don’t remember him, just what he pointed me to…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Every athlete exercises self-control in all things. They do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable. So I do not run aimlessly; I do not box as one beating the air. But I discipline my body and keep it under control, lest after preaching to others I myself should be disqualified. (1 Corinthians 9:25-27)

