Give God Your Best

by kingteamdad

Don’t act thoughtlessly, but understand what the Lord wants you to do.” (Ephesians 5:17 NLT)

RAMBLINGS from Lacy’s dad – The other night I was waiting on Lacy and Evan to finish socializing at church. While talking to a friend, I noticed him picking trash off the gym floor. So having nothing better to do, I joined him and begin picking up paper, several pieces of uneaten Pez candy, and some crumbled cookie.

About that time our youth pastor, Joe Donahue, walked by and I offered him the crumbled and mangled piece of cookie. He paused and looked at me for a second thinking I was serious. He then laughed and told me his daughter Sophie had offered him the last few bites of her sandwich earlier that day. It just happened to be mushy, messy, and just plain unappealing. We both laughed with the visual of Sophie offering the unwanted leftovers to her dad.

Many times Lacy offers me the final few bites of her burger or sandwich. Often it’s the less attractive corner or edge with less meat and trimmings. Being the typical dad that I am, I often eat it anyway rather then see it go to waste.

As I sit here, I realize I am the same way with God.  I have no problem driving around with a fish on my car. I have no problem going to church on Sunday with my Bible in hand. But how often do I just give Him the leftovers? How often do I give Him the corner or crusty edge? Am I really that different from Sophie? Joe made her sandwich, gave it to her, and after she had all she wanted, only then did she offer the “scraps” back to her dad. The one who had given it to her in the first place.

God gives me life each day. He lovingly puts a bow on it and then gives it to me to use anyway I choose.  I then with my plastic righteousness, sometimes allow Him a few seconds of my day.

…At least Lacy leaves some meat with her crust when she gives it to me….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of the time, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is. (Ephesians 5:15-17)

