Fix Your Thoughts on Jesus

by kingteamdad

We capture every thought and make it give up and obey Christ.” (2 Corinthians 10:5 NCV)

RAMBLINGS from Connor’s dad – Connor, like our other two kids, is pretty bright. In fact, I might be so bold as to say he is one brilliant young man. God chose to give him a lot more gray matter then He did me. He called me from school the other day excited about a new book he had bought on Physics at Liberty’s book store. When we talk I will ask him about his classes and he tells me about chemistry, or statistics, or evangelism, and how much he is enjoying the class. But I didn’t recall physics. I asked him which class he had to buy the book for?  His reply was that he didn’t need it for a class. He just wanted to learn more about it before he took the class. Say what?!?

When I was in college it is safe to say I was the antithesis of Connor. If I ever bought a book, it was for a class I was taking, and was almost always the yellow and black paperback (Cliff Notes) version. I was SO upset when I found out they did not offer them for Algebra!

I was too busy filing my head with important stuff like sports, girls, fraternity, or sometimes even work stuff. In my spare time I might crack a book for school, if I had an exam the next day. I got in my car commuting to work and school and listened to my rock music on the local FM station. That was my world.

Connor likes to talk about the classes he takes, Doctor Who, Switchfoot, and the mission trip he went on last weekend.

I see several differences in my college years and his.

  1. He loves learning, at the time I did NOT.
  2. The music he listens to is more positive, and usually Christian, at the time mine was NOT.
  3. He is involved with Christian organizations and ministry while in school, at the time I was NOT.
  4. He is involved studying God’s word on a daily basis, at the time I was NOT!

One of the few things I quasi remember from my tenure in college was GIGO. That was a term I learned in my computer programming class, “garbage in – garbage out” and I think referred to inputting data or commands.

Is there any computer out there greater then the one God gave each of us? I often talk to a neurosurgeon friend who tells me the brain is the most magnificent organ. Even now we are only beginning to understand its capabilities. Being around people all the time, and having become a student who likes to study people, I can tell you that GIGO is more true today then ever before. We need to be conscious of WHAT we are putting in our minds through what we read, see, and listen to. It will eventually present itself again, when it comes back out.

I guess the question is what is going to come out of us today?….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. (Philippians 4:8  ESV)

