Healing Choices: A Shared Life

by kingteamdad

For where two or three gather together as my followers, I am there among them.” (Matthew 18:20 NLT)

RAMBLINGS from Lacy’s dad – Lacy came by our class after church and met a sweet couple that had visited our Sunday school class the past two weeks. I told her that in my conversation with them, they told me they were members at a big church near by. She asked me why they were visiting our church. I told her they liked their church, but it didn’t offer Bible fellowship groups or Sunday school classes. Hence, their visiting our class, and church.

There is great teaching at both churches. But at their church they have no opportunity to get into a smaller group to fellowship. The past two weeks they have seen some of the following:

1)  A time where we share prayer requests concerning kids, jobs, death, birth, ups and downs we are going through. Sometimes a previous week’s prayer request is asked about before that individual brings it up. I had this happen just last week regarding a situation at work. One of the guys in our class texted me wanting to know how that situation was going.

2) Encouraging each other through prayer and small group conversation. Nothing like hearing another individual talking to the God of the universe about your problem. In a smaller group you have the luxury of talking through problems or concerns with like minded people. Its amazing the insight God will give someone else regarding my problem. Maybe that is one way God shows we need Him first, but also each other as the body of Christ.

3) Time to get to know others better in a smaller setting. In time, having transparency with each other regarding our hurts, our failures, and our victories.  Its easy to put on the “church face” and greet everyone. Its a whole different scenario when a handful of people roll of their sleeves, pray for each other, counsel each other, even bring food over when you have a baby.

I called my insurance agent the other day. I wanted to know if we needed to increase or decrease our coverage. We talked for a few minutes about the insurance where he assured me we were adequately insured, and then we talked quite a bit about our families. Why? You see the two of us spent five or six years together with a couple of other guys in a Tuesday morning Bible study. As we met each week studying God’s Word, we talked about life. We shared the ups and downs we were going through. The struggles in work in marriage, in parenting, in our spiritual walk. We became BROTHERS.

I can pick up the phone with any of those guys 15 years later, and still instantly connect with them…because of the fellowship we experienced together. That is why I believe its imperative that we believers get into a small group with fellow believers, who are headed on the same Heaven bound ship, and while we are on our journey…have FELLOWSHIP….

 IMG_2310

For where two or three are gathered in My name, there am I among them.  (Matthew 18:20)

