Faith is Something We Live

by kingteamdad

RAMBLINGS from Connor’s dad – I was talking to a friend the other day about some of the kids Bible stories we learned growing up. Daniel and the lions den; Shadrach, Meshach, and Abed-Nego and the fiery furnace; and the story of Joseph with his coat of many colors are but a few. These are stories we learned early on as children in Sunday School, and seldom talked about them again. They were great Veggie Tales Movies, with Larry and Bob!

Yet all three stories are inspiring stories of people who put their faith to practice and didn’t just talk it, but they walked it, too. In the book of Daniel we read where King Nebuchadnezzar of Babylon comes and conquers Jerusalem. He then has the best and brightest hauled away to serve in his palace. There Daniel rises above the rest being able to interpret a dream. Yet just a few verses later, he finds himself being prepped to be the lions next meal. His faith never wavered, and the next morning he is found alive and well, walking amongst the cats.

When we read on in Daniel about his side kicks Shadrach, Meshach, and Abed-Nego, it takes but a few verses for these best of the best to be in trouble. We see them verse after verse honoring God in all they do. They are rewarded by being thrown into the furnace after its been set to extra crispy! But their faith never wavers, and they come walking out of the fire, unscathed.

We learned about braggadocios Joseph, who after telling his older brothers about his dream of them bowing to him, gets sold into slavery by those same brothers. From that point on he does nothing wrong, and honors God in all he does. He is rewarded with getting out of slavery…and going straight to prison on trumped up charges. His faith never wavers though. He is lied to, forgotten, and living a life of existence under arrest. Not exactly a glamorous life. His neighbors stink, some are crazy, others would probably like to kill him, if possible. And yet his faith in his God stands firm. It’s but a few verses later that his fate changes miraculously, and he becomes the King’s second in command. And yes, his brothers do end up bowing to him, serving as Pharaoh’s lieutenant.

Wow, now that I think about it, I know some modern day Daniels. In fact, as I sit here, I am reminded of a couple of modern day Josephs. People who have been through some pretty major things, but they kept the faith, and God smiled with loving approval, bringing them through the storm.

I would like to think I am a modern day Shadrach. I have been tested a few times, coming out of a situation, maybe even having the smell of “smoke” on me. Maybe even a few hairs on my head smoking a little from getting to close to the fire. But God was always faithful delivering me safely through it.

What I am most thankful for is if He doesn’t deliver me safely, I am confident in my faith…that He WILL deliver me safely…to the other side!…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen. (Hebrews 11:1)

