Resist The Devil When Tempted

by kingteamdad

Put on salvation as your helmet, and take the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.” (Ephesians 6:17 NLT)

RAMBLINGS from Lacy’s dad – I am trying to instill in our kids the importance of time every day with God praying, reading, and just meditating (listening) to Him.  A fourth part of our faith that I believe is  important is memorizing scripture.

Dr. Jim met with me for over four years every Monday morning.  We did talk a little politics (always being brought up by me), a little sports (again my idea), work (usually your’s truly) and finally he would steer us in the direction of scripture. The Navigator’s Topical Memory System was the platform he used in helping me with memorizing God’ word. The goal was one verse a week. But there were many times, I must confess, where it was more like one verse a month.

It was not unusual for the verse “du jour” to have with it, an experience.  Dr. Jim would often tell me of an individual who in a time of conflict, or need, or pain, used the verse in a successful way.  Unfortunately, there were also a few times he had examples where the individual did not recall the scripture that would be helpful, and made a poor choice or succumbed to temptation.  You could see his anguish over their stumble or fall. Looking back, he reminds me of the same kind of anguish I saw on Phil Downer’s face when he recounted stories of his buddies in Vietnam who made foolish mistakes.

These are two Godly men who have made an incredible impact on my life, and countless others.  Imperfect men who time and time again try and point hurting imperfect people, to the One who was and is perfect.  And if I have heard it once, I have heard it hundreds of times from them the importance of hiding God’s word in our hearts.

Those two stubborn guys have caused me to labor over verses until I had them memorized.  I got up at O’dark:30, losing valuable and much needed sleep, to meet Dr. Jim.  We would sit and discuss those verses and how they could be effective in a spiritual battle.

Numerous times I am surprised when some conflict, trial, or temptation comes up, and one of those verses come to mind. When they do, I have the choice to embrace them and cling to them, or ignore them and face it alone.  I can tell you from my own painful experiences, facing them while embracing God’ word that I hid in my heart, it a much better, smarter, WISER path, then trying to do it own my own, alone.

As usual, I am in total agreement with Paul when he says “we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places”.  I think it is foolish for us to think we can go through this life ill equipped, or worse, unequipped, and not suffer some devastating defeats!….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places. 13Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand firm.  (Ephesians 6: 12-13)

