When Tempted, Humble Yourself Before God

by kingteamdad

Keep me from paying attention to what is worthless.” (Psalm 119:3a TEV)

RAMBLINGS from Evan’s dad – The other night we had dinner with our close friends the Trotter’s up at Cloudland, and celebrated Lacy’s birthday. On the menu for dessert was the much loved cookie cake, with lots of extra icing.

The next day I took Kris her first cup of coffee. Later I found her with her second cup, eating a piece of cookie cake. She said that she woke up with it on her mind, knowing it was only 21 steps away in the kitchen. I laughed later on that day when I caught her once again with a little bit of icing on her lip. I guess it is safe to say Kris has a weakness for cookie cake. The funny thing is later on that day I caught Lacy with cookie cake icing on the same spot of her mouth. She gave me that sheepish smile and I burst out laughing as chocolate covered teeth peeked out between her lips.

In fact, cookie cake is such a temptation around our house that the only time we allow it is for birthdays. And let me tell you, between Kris and our three kids, cookie cake never has time to spoil around the King house! Kris will be the first to admit that she has a weakness for it. She knows that she would not be able to fit in the clothes she shares with our 18 year old daughter, if she ate cookie cake all the time.

I guess all of us have some sort of “cookie cake” in our lives. I’d like to think I am like Kris and keep my “cookie cake” out of my daily life. I think many of us though, like to keep the cookie cake around close by. We want to think we are strong enough to taste just an innocent bite every now and then. When in reality the cookie cake is something that we let our mind dwell on, and because it is in reach, we stumble over and over again, sneaking around to get another piece.

That cookie cake I struggle with, tempts me least when: 1) I fill myself with something healthier then cookie cake.  2) I shield myself from the cookie cake 3) I focus instead on what is good for me, and dwell on it.

Our enemy, Satan, tries to whisper in our ears that we ARE strong enough to keep it around. He lies and tells us no one will know. He will even go on to tell us that it won’t hurt anyone. But Satan is a LIAR. He knows we aren’t strong enough. He also know that there is a ripple effect, and our weakness can and will have an effect on others.

When I go to the mall later on today, I am going in the entrance furtherest away from the cookie cake store!….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERABlessed are those who keep His testimonies, who seek Him with their whole heart, who also do no wrong, but walk in His ways!  (Psalm 119:2-3)

