God Chose You Before You Chose Him

by kingteamdad

For it is His boundless mercy that has given us the privilege of being born again so that now we are members of God’s own family.” (1 Peter 1:3)

Ramblings from Connor’s dad – Last night I came in from a very long 17 hour day of work. When I got out of the car, I was greeted by our yellow lab, Dutchess. She was very glad to see me. I know that because of the crazy way she walks up to me wagging her tail, with her  backend curved back around toward me, making a sideways C. It is almost like her backend doesn’t want to wait on her front end. Her tail beats to submission, anything that gets in the way!

I typically scratch her ears, talk to her with a kind voice, and then ask the magic questions, “Treat?”  She has never, ever, said no. When we bought our house out here in the country, 9 years ago, Kris and the kids went looking for an outside dog. A good friend, George Grantham, told us about a litter of labs, from which he had picked out their dog the day before. Kris and the kids pointed the car toward Lake Oconee and off they went. When they saw the puppies, one in particular got their attention. When they started looking her over, she crawled up in their arms, and 3 hours later, I was introduced to Dutchess. She was a beautiful little mass of yellow fur. The kids spoiled her and she’s been a part of the family ever since.

That yellow lab was nameless and without a family on that Wednesday, when Kris and the kids laid their eyes on her for the first time. She didn’t have a collar with her name on it.  She did not have a nice house with a warming pad in it that heated up in the cold weather to keep her warm. She did not “rule” over the yard like she does now. She was nameless and homeless. But on that Thursday, that home-less, family-less, name-less yellow dog, became Dutchess.

In many ways I am like Dutchess to God. I did not deserve to be His child. I was just wondering around in the dog pen of life. One Sunday night I was name-less and home-less, and walked in the doors of church like I had done so many other times. But that night God’s Holy Spirit tapped me on the shoulder and said, “Do you want a home? Do you want a name? Do you want to be loved and cared for?”  I am so thankful that even though I did not deserve it, He invited me into His family!…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

According to the foreknowledge of God the Father and set apart by the Spirit for obedience and for sprinkling with the blood of Jesus Christ. May grace and peace be multiplied to you. Praise the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. According to His great mercy, He has given us a new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead and into an inheritance that is imperishable, uncorrupted, and unfading, kept in Heaven for you. (1 Peter 1:2-4)

