Height of God’s Love

by kingteamdad

neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Romans 8:39 NIV)

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad – I had the opportunity to be in Dubai a few days after the Burj Dubai was opened. Presently it is the tallest building in the world. Two business associates were with me as we took the five minute elevator ride to the observation deck near the top. It was a very surreal experience up there. As I looked over the side, to the ground below, I saw hundreds of people walking around below us. At times I could even hear some of their conversations. As we drank in the view from that height, I was reminded of how small all this must be to God. From that height I could see the paths that people were taking and what lay ahead. It was mesmerizing to take in so much.

As we piled back on the elevator for the ride down, the experience was completely different. Our world was an 8×10 box with tv’s in it. The people around me were pressed up against me. I could smell their perfume or cologne, or smell that they needed it. 🙂  Some I could understand, and some were speaking gibberish.  (For all I know they were saying they wish I had on cologne)  Moments later we filed out of the elevator and found fresh air awaiting us as we walked out the large glass doors.

Finally, it was just my two associates.  We talked about what we experienced from the sounds and smells, to the sights. It really was an amazing experience. It was also interesting that we had three very different experiences and recall of our trip to the top. One was afraid of heights, and the other did not like crowds. (Other then that, they had a great time! 🙂

As I relate this to God’s love, all three experiences come to mind. The observation deck reminded me in a very small way of the height of God’s love. Of course Felix Baumgartner’s supersonic free-fall from 128k’ (24 miles) might give him the ability to draw an even better parallel that God is able to see it all. What really blows my mind, is that He can see it all from the beginning, to the end.

The elevator ride in my mind is more like the Holy Spirit. He is right there with us as we make it through our day. Because He is right there with us, He knows when we are happy, He knows when we are sad, He knows when we are hurting. He hears us, and knows our needs before we even speak them, because He is right there with us.

Walking when it was just the three of us, reminds me of Jesus. He talked to the 5000, but more times then not, He was in small groups, or talking with someone one on one, like the woman at the well. He liked to give people quality time, focusing on them and their needs. His love and concern for them was apparent in the way that He lived. It was even more apparent in the way that He died.

Do I fully understand the height of God’s love? No more than someone who’s made it no further then the second step of their 5 ft. ladder!  I am thankful that does not diminish how high it is.  I love Romans 8:38 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons,neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

That’s a pretty complete list. I think God was driving home the message that He is with us from the the stratosphere in the sky, to the vast crowds, and even on the ground one-on-one.  Do you feel alone now?  I sure don’t…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For I am persuaded that not even death or life, angels or rulers, things present or things to come, hostile powers, height or depth, or any other created thing will have the power to separate us from the love of God that in in Christ Jesus our Lord! (Ephesians 8:38-39)

