Servants Maintain a Low Profile

by kingteamdad

When you do good deeds, don’t try to show off. If you do, you won’t get a reward from your Father in heaven.” (Matthew 6:1 CEV)

RAMBLINGS from Evan’s dad – Evan is our youngest, but by no means our least. He is definitely his own man, marching to the beat of his own drum. Evan saw Lacy jump up on stage as far back as he can remember. He saw her drag Connor up on it as well. But Evan, has always preferred the shadows off stage, literally, working behind the scenes as crew for the performances.

This year Evan started attending Artios, a performing arts homeschool hybrid, where Lacy has enjoyed the past three years. He even joined the Drama Club Lacy is in, to once again work back stage. The funny thing about Artios is if you are in the drama club (who does all the performances) you have to do an obligatory audition.

Evan was beyond scared as he had to step forward and do his audition. He told me afterwards that he failed… miserably! As luck would have it, a week later the list of cast was made public. Yes, you guessed it, our backstage loving crew member, got cast in a principal role for the Shakespearian play Macbeth.

To say Evan was mortified and petrified, would be a gross understatement! Yet there he is every Monday and Thursday practicing for his role. Evan is not comfortable with this at all. Yet, he sticks with it. Some nonsense about wanting to get a passing grade!

I want to be more like Evan. I know there are many times I like to stand back in the wings and watch while someone else does the work. I even like to applaud them as they labor through their work, meticulously attempting to do their best. But please don’t make me have to memorize all those lines. Please don’t make me learn all that boring blocking that no one enjoys learning…or forgetting once on stage.

I need to be more like Evan, and remember that I am being graded on this. And no matter what the role is that I am asked to play, do it to the best of my ability. After all, when I am finished with my role, I want to hear “well done”!….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Likewise, you who are younger, be subject to the elders. Clothe yourselves, all of you, with humility toward one another, for “God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.”  (1 Peter 5:5)

