Do Every Task With Equal Dedication

by kingteamdad

do it with all their heart.” (Colossians 3:23 NIV)

RAMBLINGS from Connor’s dad – At one time Connor, like many of us, struggled with helping do things around the house like wash the car. It got in the way of things “he wanted” to do. Like most of us, he complained and wanted to know why he had to help with it. Over time though, he changed drastically becoming one who had no problem helping, and even began to look for ways to help.

When we were working through some of this slothfulness, I recounted a story Dr. Jim once shared with me. We were talking about marriage being a partnership and he was encouraging me to out serve Kris. He told about how he came home at night after a long day. Often he came home exhausted from being in the operating room doing surgery all day. But when he got home the first thing he did after he ate dinner was start washing dishes. Dr. Jim was stressing with me the importance of trying to out serve our wives.

That story rings in my mind like he told it to me yesterday. It’s a word picture that I hope resonated with Connor (and Evan). Hopefully they would say that even on an evening when I was wiped out from a long day of work, they saw me get up after finishing with dinner and do the dishes. They now have been taught to do the same thing.

I can assure you it was not because I love to do dishes. I did it because that’s what Dr. Jim taught me to do…and we both do it because that is what Jesus would do….


IMG_4388

“Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men,” (Colossians 3:23)

