Serve With What You Have

by kingteamdad

“Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.”  – Theodore Roosevelt   

RAMBLINGS from Evan’s dad – Last night I went up to Evan’s room where he had gone to bed sometime earlier.  I did what I try to do every night and prayed for him just before he goes to sleep. I prayed that until God calls him home, he will love God each day, more then he did the day before. I prayed that Evan will be a light to those who don’t yet know Jesus, and I prayed he would encourage those who do.

Evan (who is now a teenager) has heard some form of that prayer for years. I am praying that it has seeped in to his mind, his heart, his very soul. My hope is that he will be more of a servant today then he was yesterday. And, I am hoping he will be a better servant tomorrow, then he was today.

A buddy messaged me the other night and asked if he could get a ride home from church last night. I replied back to my friend “Sure”.

My mom’s birthday party is this Saturday 56 miles away in Conyers. There is a 10K race earlier that day that is a fund raiser for a ministry a friend runs.  He asked me if I could run in it that morning. I looked at my schedule, knowing it would be tight and said “Sure”.

Earlier in the evening Evan was busy doing his school work at his desk. I needed his help to move some things and non-chalantly called out to him and asked if he could help me for a minute? From his desk I heard the reply “Sure!” He immediately hopped and headed my way. (Evan’s “sure” reminded me that we need to be aware of the words our kids hear come out of our mouths!)

I hope I am as compliant with God when He wants me to do something, as Evan was with me. Evan didn’t tell me he was too busy. He didn’t ask if Lacy could do it. He didn’t complain about his work load. He didn’t whine or complain and ask “why me?” He just answered a simple “Sure”.

So whatever You need me for today Lord, the answer is “Sure!”…

IMG_3979He who observes the wind will not sow, and he who regards the clouds will not reap. (Ecclesiastes 11: 4)

