The Cost of Procrastination

by kingteamdad

If you won’t plow in the cold, you won’t eat at harvest.” (Proverbs 20:4 LB)

RAMBLINGS from Connor’s dad – Connor is the antithesis of procrastination. I remember one time when the school term started on a Monday. We were home schooling all three at the time. Each of the kids had a separate room in which they did their work. Lacy came out shortly after lunch and proudly announced she was finished. Evan finished soon after her. Connor’s door stay closed. We checked on him several times. And each time he said he was still working. We asked him more than once if everything was ok, and he assured us it was. He finally came out just before dinner and announced he had finished. I asked him if he had some problems since his siblings had finished hours earlier. He said no, and then smiled a big smile and announced he could take the rest of the week off because he had knocked out the whole week’s worth of work in one day!

Connor has always been one who knows the deadline, and then methodically schedules his work to finish early. Having watched him do that time and time again over the years, I noticed several things.

Connor almost never let having something due, turn into a problem. He worked on it methodically to finish it early, so if something came up in his schedule, it was never more then an inconvenience.

Connor seldom missed the opportunity to do something because of incomplete work. I remember once having a big midnight movie premier he wanted to attend the night before a project was due. When I hesitated to let him go, he informed he that he had finished his project days earlier.

Connor not procrastinating, has helped in several situations when someone else did. I remember him having a “group” project at school. He had finished his part the week before. The night before it was due he found out the other person in his group had done a very poor job, and, had done it incorrectly. So Connor, had to step in and do the other half of the “group” project. Thankfully, because he had finished his part ahead of time, he had the flexibility to do it.

As usual, I learn a lot from my kids, and Connor is no exception. I don’t want to procrastinate because I want to always be caught up on what God is wanting me to be a part of. I don’t want to procrastinate because I want to be in a position that I don’t miss out on any opportunity He might have for me. I don’t want to procrastinate because I want to be in the position to be able to step in and help someone else when needed.

I look at the life of Christ and see Him never procrastinating. He was never getting in a hurry, but He was always on time….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The sluggard does not plow in the autumn; he will seek at harvest and have nothing.  (Proverbs 20:4)

