Why Do I Procrastinate?

by kingteamdad

If you wait for perfect conditions, you’ll never get anything done!” (Ecclesiastes 11:4 LB)

RAMBLINGS from Evan’s dad – Evan, our youngest, who is now also our tallest, sometimes struggles with procrastination.  It is not atypical for me to ask him to do something, and come back later to find it is not done…yet. He then usually jumps up, sincerely remorseful that it hasn’t been done, and does it.

Now that I think about it, aren’t I like that sometimes?  Either it is a report that needs to be done, or our taxes that need to be figured, or a phone call that needs to be made.  But instead, I procrastinate deliberately because I am not looking forward to doing it. Indecision, perfectionism, fear, anger, and laziness, are some of the factors that influence us.

I think sometimes it can also be as simple as the “noise” of life distracting us. I see it with me and I see it with Evan. We know we need to do “that”…but “this” is catching our attention. Maybe it is a motivating video on Youtube, or an interesting life or death show of survival on NatGeo. The world is full of distractions and noise. It can be good distractions like your favorite team playing in a big game. It can be not so good distractions on the internet, the magazine rack at the convenience store, or even the latest video game.

Evan and I have both found that we need to minimize the noise in our lives. The less noise we have when we are working on something, the better.

Kris and I are in our final days of vacation.  Two days ago I tried to sleep in a while and then get up to have my quiet time. By mid-morning I had too many distractions pulling at me with Fox News, FB, email, and my phone wanting to enlighten me with up to the minute news. They weren’t doing anything terrible, just slowing me down on what I was trying to do by distracting me.

The next morning I found myself getting up earlier so I could spend some quiet time when it was actually quiet…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lazy people want much but get little, while the diligent are prospering. (Proverbs 13:4)

