Prayers Have an Impact

by kingteamdad

God is able to do far more than we would ever dare to ask or even dream of, infinitely beyond our highest prayers, desires, thoughts or hopes.” (Ephesians 3:20 LB)

RAMBLINGS from Lacy’s dad – I just hung up the phone with Lacy.  She was busy doing her school work at home while Kris and I are down here in Florida. Lacy, like our other two, is a real joy to us. I am so amazed at the family with whom God has blessed me. But then again, isn’t this been the basis of so many prayers?

Our friends we had dinner with the other night had recently come out of that bad business relationship.  The rest of the story is a year earlier we were days from entering into the same partnership, and merging our company. Great efforts and expense had been made to prepare for it. Fortunately Kris and I had been praying about it, and in the eleventh hour, we backed out.

There was a lot of pain associated with that debacle.  John was responsible for introducing us to, and bringing us into the partnership. As I have mentioned before, there was a great deal of hurt there for Kris and I to wrestle with. A great deal of pain to pray through. But God helped us through it, and seven months later I was calling John to see how he was doing.

I am so amazed at the feelings I now have for this man and his family. This man introduced us to so much pain and sleepless nights. But I look back at the nights I couldn’t sleep; the nights I really DISLIKED him and his partner a LOT. Finally, after tossing and tumbling, and unsuccessfully finding a good nights sleep, I started praying ABOUT them. In fact, in a few of those prayers I might have mentioned to God something about judgement on them.

Months later, the prayers finally led to praying FOR them. And eventually it led to Sunday night when I saw him and his wife, and could give them both a hug, and be sincere when I told them it was good to see them. God was able to get us beyond that place of hurt, to a place where we could once again love. Maybe prayer is a heavenly version of a healing balm that we are putting on our hurting hearts and lives.

Now that I think abut it, and the power of prayer that has been exhibited in my life, maybe I shouldn’t be so amazed….

IMG_3270

Now this is the confidence we have before Him: Whenever we ask anything according to His will, He hears us. And if we know that He hears whatever we ask, we know that we have what we have asked Him for. (1 John 5: 14-15)

