God Specializes in Impossible Dreams

by kingteamdad

He has delivered us from such a terrible death, and He will deliver us; we have placed our hope in Him that He will deliver us again.” (2 Corinthians 1:10 HCSB)

RAMBLINGS from Lacy’s dad – Lacy knows that I love baseball. The first team I ever played on a team was in the 5th grade. I think I have missed two seasons since, and I am now in the “AARP” age range. In high school I was a decent player and made all-stars playing 3rd base. The funny thing is my real love was the outfield where I would run all day to catch a fly ball.

College came along and I was encouraged to be a walk-on for the baseball team…but I was scared of failing. I vacillated back and forth, and finally walked away from the coach’s office never knocking on his door. I didn’t have enough faith in myself, and the chance of failure was too hard for me to consider. So I simply walked away. That year, my college’s team won the junior college World Series and several of the players went on to play in the Majors.

I used to kick myself for not at least trying. My head was full of the “what-if’s” and the “if only’s”. Was it a dream God gave me? Since it was before I became a Christian, I don’t think so.

Since then I have looked at the course my life has taken and am thankful that I did not play ball in college. It was on the road I did choose that I met Christ. Two years later I was blessed to meet my future bride, Kris on that chosen road.

When you look at some of the names in the Bible like Abraham, Noah, Joseph, and Nehemiah. How would their story read if they had stood at the coach’s office, and then walked away without knocking. Thankfully, in their moments of hesitation, and periods of doubt, their stories did not end there. Instead God gave them the strength to persevere.

Another name comes to mind in the Bible, Lazarus. He had come to the end of his road, literally. In fact, he lay stinking in the tomb, being dead for 3 days! Yet Jesus came along, and said what looks impossible to man, is a simple possibility for My Father.

How many of us are Lazarus? How many of us think we are hopelessly dead? When in reality, Jesus is standing outside, waiting to turn our situation into another miracle?….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For we don’t want you to be unaware, brothers, of our affliction that took place in Asia: we were completely overwhelmed — beyond our strength — so that we even despaired of life. Indeed, we personally had a death sentence within ourselves, so that we would not trust in ourselves but in God who raises the dead. 1He has delivered us from such a terrible death, and He will deliver us. We have put our hope in Him that He will deliver us again.  (2 Corinthians 1:8-10)

