God Pushes You to Deeper Faith

by kingteamdad

I know, even though you are temporarily harassed by all kinds of trials and temptations. This is no accident – it happens to prove your faith, which is infinitely more valuable, than gold .” (1 Peter 1:6-7 PH)

RAMBLINGS from Connor’s dad – When Connor was born I was in my 7th year of medical sales. Prior to that I was in consumer sales and pharmaceutical sales. Prior to that I was working my way through college on an assembly line. Prior to that I was in high school cutting grass. Prior to that I was selling tomatoes out in the front yard, under the chestnut tree of our family home.

Once Connor got here, I found myself wanting to be more flexible with my time, and wanted to start our own business. I talked to Kris about it, and I prayed about it. My desire to start it only grew. I prayed about it some more, and several opportunities came along. But for one reason or another, God did not seem to give me/us the green light. There were times of frustration as I begin to bite at the bit, to go out “on my own”. But as we prayed through these opportunities, there was always a check in our spirit.

I prayed more about it, asking God why He kept closing doors. One day as I was walking down my life’s pathway, I saw this “big door” open. IT couldn’t possibly be for me, because it was too wide open. It had to be a trick. “No way I am falling for this one God!” I almost didn’t mention it to Kris, who always agreed with God and poo-pooed things. But, I did and was completely shocked when she said emphatically “LET’S DO IT!”

Why the sudden change in Kris’ attitude? Why the melting away of reluctance and fear of failure? Maybe it was because she was more dialed into God’s will then this guy. After all, I was the one who repeatedly tried to tell her, and God unsuccessfully, that the square pegs I wanted to put in the round holes made perfect sense for our new start up. (Thankfully, I did have enough sense to listen to them both. If either (typically both) said “No, or not now” I did listen. So for years I was a frustrated entrepreneur want-to-be.)

I’d like to say 7 years later everything has been peaches and cream. But it hasn’t. We have had people breach contracts, and we have had our ups and downs. But in this troubled economy, I can say God has been faithful in keeping our lights on. We have had great months, and we have had not so great months. There have been some months where we went without a paycheck, but there has never been a month or even a day He did not provide us with our daily bread.

Through those struggles I have learned to lean on Him more. My prayer life and quiet times have gotten more deliberate. I hope I have grown spiritually these past 7+years. I don’t know where the business will be 7 years from now. I am thankful that slowly, but surely, I am leaving that up to Him….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In this you rejoice, though now for a little while, if necessary, you have been grieved by various trials, so that the tested genuineness of your faith—more precious than gold that perishes though it is tested by fire—may be found to result in praise and glory and honor at the revelation of Jesus Christ. (1 Peter 1:6-7)

