Decision-Making Builds Faith

by kingteamdad

RAMBLINGS from Lacy’s dad – From the time we were married, Kris and I prayed that God would only bless us with kids who would grow up to serve Him, and be useful till the day they die.

Lacy was singing songs before she could talk, literally! From the early years of being a toddler, she liked performing. When Lacy was grammar school age, she joined CYT, Christian Youth Theatre. After multiple try outs, she finally made the cut with minor parts where she was the rock on the left or tree on the right. I loved her little outfits, but thought she was barking up the wrong tree (pun intended).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In middle school she persevered and got a few speaking parts. But the acting still left a little to be desired.

The next year she tried out for another play, and to my surprise she got a key role. The night of the first performance I was shocked to see her doing a very good job of acting. I looked back and realized at some point a transformation took place. My little girl who did the no-no and looked at the audience while on stage, and not the other characters (!), had learned to get into character and be believable.

Several scenes into the play she sang a solo and I was amazed. I was in awe of her stage presence.

My little girl who always liked to play dress up, will be playing Lady MacBeth in her upcoming show.  At the same time she will also be rehearsing for the role of Sebastian, the little crab who tried to keep Ariel out of trouble in the Little Mermaid.  I can’t imagine two more diverse roles. But I look back at years of voice lessons, music lessons, and acting lessons, through 20+ shows, and I see she worked hard, and she sharpened a talent and skill that God has blessed her with.

I told her the other day I was proud of her. NOT for her abilities, because God gave her those talents. I am proud of her for her ATTITUDE and humility.  I am proud most of her heart! I am so thankful she saw her hopelessness when she was younger, and made Christ Lord of her life. She radiates His love in all that she does.

Is acting a dream she is seeing come to fruition? I don’t know. Maybe it is simply to prepare her for what God eventually wants her to do.

What I do know is she seems to be dialed in to His will, and is seeking it daily. And through that, her FAITH is growing daily, too!….

IMG_2632

If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him. But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea that is driven and tossed by the wind. (James 1:5-6)

