Restoring Relationships: Talk to God

by kingteamdad

What causes fights and quarrels among you? You want something but don’t get it. You do not have, because you do not ask God.” (James 4:1-2 NIV)

RAMBLINGS from Lacy’s dad – I was talking to a buddy recently who is going through marital problems. He was beating himself up over how he acts sometimes towards his wife. He clearly loves her, but sometimes he is a jerk.

I reminded him that we are all sinners. We all can be selfish and self-centered, expecting the world to revolve around us. I stressed the importance to my athletically fit friend, that it’s even more important that he is spiritually fit. I encouraged him to make sure he works out spiritually, before he let’s himself work out physically. I know there are days I don’t have time for both, so I don’t workout.

I also mentioned the lesson that Kris and I taught on Sunday regarding Angels. We read in the Bible where God sends them to help us. We also read where a third of them were cast out of Heaven when Lucifer rebelled. Those fallen angels (demons) now spend their remaining time of existence, trying to disrupt our lives. They can do it by whispering doubt in our ears. They might be encouraging us to selfish behaviors. Or they might be encouraging our spouse or family member.  I told Lacy that he 1970’s comedian Flip Wilson, wasn’t totally wrong when he used to say “the Devil made me do it!”

It is our responsibility as Christians to be vigilant and aware that we are in a spiritual battle.  There are outside forces trying to make us stumble in our walk and our relationships. Those forces are trying to do the same thing with our family, friends, and co-workers, who are believers. With that in mind, most mornings I try to pray the armor of God that Paul mentions in Ephesians 6, over my family. Just as no soldier should go into battle ill prepared, neither should we in this spiritual battle. When we do ignorantly go out “unarmed”, we are setting ourselves up for failure. We need to remember that the next time someone doesn’t treat us the way we think they should have….

IMG_4377

Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the schemes of the devil.  (Ephesians 6:11)

