Relationships are Worth Restoring

by kingteamdad

God blesses those who work for peace, for they will be called the children of God.” (Matthew 5:9 NLT)

RAMBLINGS from Connor’s dad – I hope Connor always knows that contrary to our thinking sometimes, God’s timing is always flawless. Today was no exception.

I started reading my devotion for the day, and the scripture associated with it was Phillipians 2, where Paul is encouraging them to restore relationships. I no sooner finished reading, then I get a call from a friend having marital problems. I laughed and said “Let me read you something I just finished reading for my devotion”. When I finished he was silent for a second and then asked”….Did you really just read that? Was that really your devotion for today?!?”

For the next 30 minutes I spoke with him over the phone about God’s desire to see us act more like Christ, and less like us. Granted some of us are lied to by loved ones and friends, “stabbed in the back” by business associates, and cheated out of money. But we need to have more of a family resemblance with our Savior, and Father. I reminded him that God thought his relationship was important enough that He lined this devotion up for me to read, and share.

Yeah, but Ted you don’t know what they did to me! You don’t know how they wronged me!

No, I don’t. I have no idea what your heart felt like when it was being hurt by that incident. I don’t know the pain you now feel. But God does.

I do know what the Bible says about Jesus. He never wronged anyone. He never lied, never stole from anyone, nor cheated anyone. Yet for His honesty, His compassion, and His love for others; He was lied about, He was betrayed, He was beaten, and He was murdered. Yet as He was dying on the cross, He looked toward Heaven and asked His Father to forgive them! Wow!!

That’s the model that Paul reminds us of in Phillipians 2. ¬†That is the family resemblance we should work toward!…..

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So if there is any encouragement in Christ, any comfort from love, any participation in the Spirit, any affection and sympathy, complete my joy by being of the same mind, having the same love, being in full accord and of one mind. (Phillipians 2:1-2)

