Admitting Your Mistakes

by kingteamdad

All of us have fallen short, yet now God declares us not guilty if we trust in Jesus Christ who freely takes away our sins.” (Romans 3:23-24)

RAMBLINGS from Evan’s dad – When Evan was maybe 5 or 6, I occasionally met with a guy over coffee to discuss life. He was a very nice gregarious guy…who had a problem with alcohol. He destroyed his first marriage. A marriage with a wonderful young lady he met in church while singing in the choir.

He worked his way up the corporate ladder, became very successful, and started making a LOT of money. As he entertained customers he started indulging in the drinks they were ordering before dinner a little too much. What followed was a downward spiral prompted by his inability to “hold his liquor”. It led to bad decisions that ruined his marriage. That led to him losing his job, and then it led to him losing the right to see his boys.

We met off and on for several years. Sometimes he was pretty consistent meeting me, and other times he was a “no-show”. The success he had avoiding the bottle brought him my way. The periods where he lost his battle to the bottle, he beat himself up and wouldn’t show up. I tried to stress with him that it was important to get together and talk through things when he stumbled. But the enemy did a great job of playing on my friends pride.

The guilt and shame he carried from his mistakes, festered. He never allowed himself the grace that God promises us through Christ. He would beat himself up, and then roll around in his guilt, avoiding me.

I finally lost track of my friend a few years ago.  My prayer is he has finally realized the grace God gives us. Hopefully, he now understands that God is a God of second chances. My football coach used to tell me that it’s not how many times you get knocked down that’s important, it’s how many times you get back up, brush yourself off, and get back in the game….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified by His grace as a gift, through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus, (Ephesians 3:23-24)

