Guarding Your Mind

by kingteamdad

RAMBLINGS from Lacy’s dad – I’ve told Lacy that growing up I was always small for my size. She has always been tall for her age so its hard for her to relate. I shared with her how bullying for me in school was not unusual as the other kids, most of whom were bigger then me, found a smaller target attractive.

When I got to high school things were no better. Over time though I found rather then fight back, I would try and lighten the situation with humor. I realized my tormentors were less likely to annihilate me if they were laughing with me, and not at me. I developed a sense of humor that could be turned on with the flip of a threat. Over time most of the bullies ended up viewing me as a friend because I got them to laugh.

You know how you boil a frog? If you stick him in hot water he hops out. You stick him in room temperature water, that’s comfortable for him. Then you turn the heat up slowly, the frog’s cold blooded system adjusts, and slowly but surely, you have a frog that is wondering why he is so hot…

The enemy in this spiritual battle we all are in, wants to boil us alive. The enemy is patient. Very patient. The enemy will let things develop slowly for years, for decades if necessary. He knows one way to get our defenses down, is to get us to laugh at sin. Just as someone can’t be all bad if he makes you laugh, this particular sin can’t be so bad if it makes you laugh.

Don’t get me wrong, I love to laugh. Its hard not to with the joy I have since becoming a Christian. But I try and guard myself at what I laugh at…I definitely don’t want to find myself laughing at something, that grieves Jesus!…

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Let there be no filthiness nor foolish talk nor crude joking, which are out of place, but instead let there be thanksgiving. (Ephesians 5:4)

