Expect A Miracle

by kingteamdad

And the disciples picked up twelve basketfuls of broken pieces of bread and fish. And the number of the men who had eaten was five thousand.” (Mark 6:43-44 NIV)

RAMBLINGS from Kris’ hubby – I look back at my life and realize how incredibly blessed I am. My parents grew up in the country and their families were poor. A good work ethic was taught from an early age. They might work sun-up to sun-down 6 days a week, but on the 7th, they were at church. I guess it came pretty naturally for me to not mind working. 

I worked my way through college and had a pharmaceutical sales job in my late 20’s. It was at church one Sunday where I met Kris. A year later, we started dating and I knew pretty quickly my life as a bachelor was in serious doubt. Two years later we were married and setting up house in a little fixer-upper.

Right after we met, I learned that Kris had a rare blood disorder. She was told she would probably never have kids. Because of her blood disorder, she brought up the possibility of adopting early on.

We decided to give God a little time before we looked into adoption. About 18 months into our marriage we did get pregnant, but then lost the baby at 13 weeks. Our hope quickly turned to utter disappointment.

We prayed through it, asking God to give us wisdom, and kids…but ONLY if they would know Him. We prayed that prayer daily over the next five years. God blessed us during that time with one more child in heaven, and, 3 precious miracles. Each one special in their own way. Rarely has a day gone by, that I did not thank Him for those 3 miracles. 

We’ve had medical challenges since, whether it’s degenerative disc disease in the spine, or a connective tissue disorder like Rheumatoid Arthritis. Kris and I were talking last night and I told her that whenever one of us got a new diagnosis it troubled me, but did not discourage me. I might be troubled because I know it can bring bad days of feeling lousy. But I won’t be discouraged to the point of despair, because I have evidence in our lives of God being bigger then we are. The laughter from any of the 3 He blessed us with, is a reminder of that!

Just as He let us have two miscarriages along our road, I know we can expect other bumps in the road. But that doesn’t mean I can’t trust that He is STILL in the miracle business.

I know that God could choose to miraculously heal our physical problems. He could also miraculously give us the ability to deal with any bumps in the road with His peace, hope and joy.

I guess the bumps make the miracles even sweeter!…

 IMG_4153

But Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.”  (Matthew 19:26)

