Help Others Find Freedom

by kingteamdad

You will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” (John 8:32 TEV)

RAMBLINGS from Evan’s dad – Dr. Jim Lyon is a Godly man. He was blessed to be a very good OB-GYN surgeon. As I have said before he delivered all three of our kids, including Evan. I also remember him praying with us when we lost our first baby, and again with our fourth pregnancy.

In many ways he helped “deliver” me…from being an insensitive newlywed, to someone Kris and the kids could tolerate. It was in those early years of marriage that Dr. Jim started meeting with me on Mondays at “0-dark:30” in the morning. We would sit and talk about my problems, struggles, and concerns. Inevitably he would turn my focus toward the Bible. Time and time again he reminded me it was our “owners manual” from God.

Sometimes it was almost a game. I would bring up a problem or concern, and he would turn around and bring up a scripture. He would remind me that he never had an answer for me.  Then he would say, “but let’s see what God says about that…” As I look back, I realize my ADHD should have driven him crazy, but he modeled the patience of Job as he tolerated my rabbit trails we went down, always bringing me back around to appropriate scripture.

I hope I can be a “Dr. Jim” and help someone along their path. He told us early on when we were busy being parents of new borns, that they were our mission field for a season. Kris and I never forgot that. We have made many mistakes, but we have diligently tried to point them toward God. We have tried to show them the right way to walk, and when we did stumble, point out what we did wrong so they could learn from it. I hope they will stumble a little less then I have, because of what Dr. Jim took the time to teach me….

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So Jesus said to the Jews who had believed him, “If you abide in My word, you are truly My disciples, and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”  (John 8:31-32)

