Will You Give It All?

by kingteamdad

RAMBLINGS from Lacy’s dad – Human nature…the sin nature, enables us to be selfish. We feel like we are going beyond the call of duty to give that person needing money, a couple of quarters out of the change in our pocket. When they speak of a need at church, we rationalize that we can have a few less latte’s next week, and give a few dollars out of our pocketful.  I can always justify giving a little, but seldom have I given everything I had!

It reminds me of some of the times when Lacy and her brothers were little. Several times I would give them a handful of change, and then a few minutes later ask for one quarter back. It was funny how quickly that quarter became theirs. We worked through that exercise and when they did give me a quarter, sometimes, I would come back and give them another handful of change. But not always.

Years later the kids have taken that concept and on several occasions gave all they had for something. Maybe it was a need at church, or a family in crisis. Whatever it was, we would learn, later sometimes by looking at their piggy bank, that one of them had given all they had.

I am ashamed to say they learned that lesson much better then I did. Have I given till it hurts? Yes. Have I given all I had?…seldom.

When praying, I try and remember to earnestly and sincerely “give” God everything. Our business, our kids, our marriage, my very life. I pray with my hands wide open and turned toward Heaven, giving it all to Him. In those moments, I feel all the burdens of life lift off of me. Probably because I gave it all to Someone who could do a much better job of managing it and using it then I could!

Today I want to be like that boy in John 6:9! I want to give it all, and then with great faith, wait and see what He does with it! I could never feed a crowd of 5000…but I know Someone Who can!…

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So they sat down in groups, by hundreds and by fifties. And taking the five loaves and the two fish He looked up to heaven and said a blessing and broke the loaves and gave them to the disciples to set before the people. And He divided the two fish among them all. And they all ate and were satisfied. And they took up twelve baskets full of broken pieces and of the fish. And those who ate the loaves were five thousand men. (Mark 6:40-44)

