Identifying A Miracle

by kingteamdad

RAMBLINGS from Connor’s dad – When Connor was little, he was often amazed at my abilities. It was nothing for me to walk by, and pull quarters out of his ears! I would then turn around, put them in my hand, blow on them, and when Connor checked my hand, the quarter was magically gone! As much as he would try and repeat my trick, he could not. The innocent way he tried to replicate it was nothing short of humorous.

In many ways, this made him appreciate it even more. Connor would have me perform this “miraculous feat” in front of his siblings or any friend who happened to be over. Each time he would get that big smile on his face and watch with amazement. He never got tired of seeing me do it.

The Bible is full of miracles that God performed, starting with the creation story. We move through the Old Testament with all the times He saved them from the 10 plagues of Egypt, the 40 years of manna and quail in the wilderness, to the Israelites winning numerous battles when they were greatly outnumbered. He then sends along His Son in the New Testament who performs numerous miracles on a more personal level with individuals He crossed paths with. As Jesus prepared to leave, He promised to send a Helper to be with us.

As I sit here reflecting on the miracles of the Bible, I wish I were more like little Connor. I wish I would wait expectantly, with a big smile on my face, for the next miracle God would performed. I wish I would get my friends to watch and say, “Just wait, He’s going to do it again! I don’t know what it will be, but I can promise you it will be a doozy!”

I guess that is why Jesus said, “Truly, I say to you, unless you turn and become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.” (Matthew 18:3 ESV) He didn’t want us to be blind and ignorant, but to be expectant of what our Father can really do, while understanding and accepting how little we can do without Him.

I am going to act like that young innocent Connor, and today I am going to look with great expectation, and excitement, for His miracles!…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And taking the five loaves and the two fish He looked up to heaven and said a blessing and broke the loaves and gave them to the disciples to set before the people.  And He divided the two fish among them all.  And they all ate and were satisfied.  And they took up twelve baskets full of broken pieces and of the fish. And those who ate the loaves were five thousand men.  (Mark 6:41-44)

