Lean on the Lord

by kingteamdad

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and don’t lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will make your paths straight.” (Proverbs 3:5-6 NIV)

RAMBLINGS from Lacy’s dad – Today will be an easy day to put Proverbs 3:5-6 into action. We have 1/3 of our kids (Lacy) driving 13 miles away to school. Add to that another 1/3 of our kids (Evan) will be riding with her. All of this while we are 7 hours away in Virginia, preparing to leave the other 1/3 of our kids (Connor) at Liberty University.

Emotions will be running high today as our world spins with us standing on the sidelines. We will anxiously await a call from 2/3’s of our kids letting us know they arrived ok. We will start our drive home, Connor-less, anxiously awaiting a call from him this week letting us know he is ok.

I have to remind myself to pray to my Father. I have to remind myself that He blessed us with those 3. I have to remind myself that He has protected them up to this very moment in time. I have to remind myself to pray His will be done, NOT my will. My will would be so selfish, probably wanting to freeze my life in time where we could all live happily together like we have for the past 14 years (when Evan arrived). If I keep praying for His will to be done, then when things do or don’t happen, I can trust that its His will.  Assuming of course, we are all doing our part…not standing on the sidelines.

I guess that means we need to step back into the game. Kind of hard to be useful in this game of life, if we are on the sideline fretting on how the game is going! Just as a team relies on their coach to see better from up above in the coaches box, so I need to remind myself God has a much better view from His perspective. Not to mention, He already knows how He wants the game to end.

Today as much as ever, I have to lean on Him. I have to trust that my prayers for His will to be done…will be done. I will acknowledge Him, and His faithfulness, and His love, and His wisdom, and trust that today He will make the Kingteam’s paths, straight!….

IMG_0046

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make straight your paths. (Proverbs 3:5-6 )

