Avoiding Spiritual Burnout

by kingteamdad

Take the time and trouble to keep yourself spiritually fit.” ( 1 Timothy 4:8 Phillips)

RAMBLINGS from Lacy’s dadLacy and I have experienced some pretty interesting bus rides. Peru immediately comes to mind. One day we rested from doing street ministry stuff, and the group drove up to see a beautiful mountain top cross  overlooking the city. It was a winding, steep road, amazingly with very few guard rails!  The view was beautiful, pictures were taken, and we headed back to the buses. As we started to board one of the buses, we noticed its tires were worn slick, with some metal showing. Everyone looked at the tires, and crowded on to the other bus. Needless to say the ride down was crowded!

Another time we were on three big chartered buses heading to summer camp with 150 kids. The buses were passing through the mountains when one overheated. The driver had pushed the bus too hard for too long, and we had to pull over and let it cool down for 45 minutes.  While it was cooling we had the “fun” of putting all those kids on the other two buses, parked on the shoulder of the road, because their air conditioners were still working. (I’m beginning to understand why Lacy doesn’t like buses anymore!)

I guess in many ways we Christians can do the same thing.  Sometimes we are so focused on doing “good” for God, that we ignore the “tires” in our life. We keep putting things off, while we are busy doing good. If we don’t watch out, we are going to get ourselves in trouble when the conditions worsen. Other times we ignore our mental “gauges” telling us to slow down, rest, and meditate, and we plough full-steam ahead, only to find ourselves on the side of the road, useless for a time. There is definitely a fine line we must walk while doing all we can for the kingdom of God.

I learned from Dr. Jim to keep my “bus” in good working order, ready for the next opportunity, with several things.

  1. I try to get up early enough every morning to have ample time to chill and have a cup of coffee with my Heavenly Father.
  2. I try to mentally have some time set aside every day to be available if He brings something, or somebody my way.
  3. I try my best to make time for my family, my bride, and each kid, every week.
  4. I work hard, but try not to carry my work home with me past 6:00 p.m.
  5. I chill on Sunday after church and Bible Study, and let this old body rest!
  6. I try and meet with a group of guys once a week.
  7. I try and meet with an individual guy each week and imitate Dr. Jim. 🙂

My goal is to keep my life in order with my FAITH first, my FAMILY second, and my FIRM (company) third. Guess it’s about time to get this bus cranked and head out for the day….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Have nothing to do with irreverent, silly myths. Rather train yourself for godliness; for while bodily training is of some value, godliness is of value in every way, as it holds promise for the present life and also for the life to come.  (1 Timothy 4:7-8)

