Turn Excuses into Creative Thinking

by kingteamdad

Only those who throw away their lives for my sake and for the sake of the Good News will ever know what it means to really live!” (Mark 8:35 TLB)

RAMBLINGS from Lacy’s dad – God gives us different talents and gifts. All of them are intended to be used for His glory. There have been times I came home to find a younger Lacy walking in from the woods with a hammer. That usually raised a question mark, but I was thankful the hammer made it back to the house, that time!  Reminds me of the rusty handsaw I found out on the ground by the trampoline. It wasn’t rusty the last time I saw it hanging in the shop. :/

More recently, I have seen Lacy using the “tools” God’s given her appropriately. I have witnessed her being very patient and kind to young little girls who gravitate to her. Some who get to see her perform at church singing about the love of Jesus. Some who, at times, can be a bit loud and maybe a little bit annoying, yet she still smiles and talks with them, doing her best Jesus imitation. I have seen her numerous times after performing on stage, stand and speak with younger girls who want to meet her and have their picture taken with her. She is always patient and kind to them.

Now that I think about it, the same thing happened in McDowell county, West Virginia, and in the Ghettos of Bogota, Colombia. The girls in those areas might not be as clean, they might not smell quite as sweet, but Lacy loved on them non the less.

I am confident that Jesus was the same way. I never read where he told some smelly dirty person to go take a shower and then come back to see him. No, he met with them where ever they were, and always left them “changed” and at least their hearts in a “different place”.

I want to be more like Lacy. Patient, with those who try my patience. Kind, to those whom I am not naturally kind. Forgiving, to those who should be unforgivable. After all, that was exactly the way I was…smelly, dirty, and unloveable…the night that I bumped into Jesus. And like all the others, I was eternally changed by that encounter!

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for My sake and the gospel’s will save it. For what does it profit a man to gain the whole world and forfeit his soul?  (Mark 8:35-36)

