On Mission: Pray for Specific Countries

by kingteamdad

If you ask me, I will give you the nations; all the people on earth will be yours.” (Psalm 2:8 NCV)

RAMBLINGS from Connor’s dad – I am so in awe of the kids God has blessed me with. By no means are they perfect, but they are pretty good kids.

Connor is no exception. In the 5th grade he climbed onto a bus knowing no one, and went to Arkansas for a week to work on houses. We had moved, started at a new church where we knew no one, and 24 hours later he was riding with 50 “strangers” to be Jesus to those who needed help. He has slept in hot old “houses” in West Virginia for the same reason.

Connor went with us to Peru and Colombia to witness and minister to those who were less fortunate. He went without us to Panama when he was 15, once again to help people find out about Jesus

It’s easy for Connor to pray for the mountain-folk in West Virginia, for African-Americans in Arkansas, for the people in Peru, for the people in Panama, and for the people in Colombia. He has been among them. When he prays for those places, he can put names and faces to those prayers.

I can pray for Nauru, the world’s smallest island nation, but I have never been there. There are other tiny countries like Tuvalu and San Marino. Places where I have never been, but places with people God loves just as much as me. I can pray for Syria, but I have never been there either.

The difference is I know no one from Nauru or San Marino, but I have several friends from Syria.

So I pray for those faces, those smiles, and I ask God to be with their families and friends back in those countries. Will I pray for Nauru? Sure. But I will probably spend a little more time on Peru or Syria, because I can put a face to that prayer.

Hopefully, there are people in some of those countries who have been to or met Americans, and are praying for us, too!…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You also must help us by prayer, so that many will give thanks on our behalf for the blessing granted us through the prayers of many.  (2 Corinthians 1:11)

