Moment-by-Moment Dependence on God

by kingteamdad

I don’t think about what would be good for me but about what would be good for many people so that they might be saved.” (1 Corinthians 10:33 GW)

RAMBLINGS from Connor’s dad – It is so easy to be self-absorbed. I am very good at it! Why not, I am with me all the time.

On numerous occasions I can recall having a bad day. Work wasn’t going well, or the car was acting up and I would be feeling sorry for myself. I mean if you could see what I was having to go through with the inconvenience of waiting on my car, you would totally understand! Inevitably I would meet someone for a cup of coffee or bite to eat. We would sit down and then for the next 10 minutes I would want to relive the traumatic experience at the garage where I was informed my thing-a-ma-bob was discombobulated and would need to be replaced with a newer synthetic one, and that the cost plus labor would equal the cost of my first stereo system, when they still came with record players.

When I finally took a breath after my 10 minutes of run on sentences, I non-chalantly asked how they were doing…as I glanced over the menu. That’s when I shut up long enough to hear that their parent had died, or spouse left them, or they had just filed for bankruptcy, or lost their job! Talking about putting things in perspective. That busted thing-a-ma-bob suddenly seemed insignificant. The blinders would come off and I would humbly realize the world did not revolve around me. There were other people in the world, and they were hurting too.

Slowly, God started to show me through people like my mentor Dr. Jim, that if I just sit and listened, there were a lot of hurting people out there. People who needed someone to talk to. People who were full of real heartache and despair. People without a Savior, and without hope!

Dr. Jim taught me that if you looked them in the eye and asked them how they were doing, and then waited, would often take off their mask and open up. He taught me the answers to the questions they had, were in the ancient writings of Paul, Matthew, Mark, Luke and John!

I look back at the life of Christ. Time and time again, when He came up on someone, Jesus would focus on them and their needs. He was never in a hurry. And His words and His actions never left them the same….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Brothers, do not be children in your thinking. Be infants in evil, but in your thinking be mature.  (1 Corinthians 14:20)

