Becoming a “God-first’ Believer

by kingteamdad

“When we are motivated by goals that have deep meaning, by dreams that need completion, by pure love that needs expressing — then we truly live life.” ~   Greg Anderson

RAMBLINGS from Evan’s dad – When our kids were little they were definitely “takers”. They were takers of our time. They were takers of our energy. They were definitely takers of our resources. Their understanding of the solar system was everything revolved around them! Don’t get me wrong, our kids were good kids. It was just in their nature, like most everyone else to look at life from their perspective.

Yesterday, Kris was getting ready to take some boxes of things to the car. The boys saw her and both jumped right in volunteering their services…and muscles! I got home from running errands, and Evan came out and asked me if I needed any help. Yesterday afternoon I was dragging a little from going for a run and then working around the house. I was pleasantly surprised when he walked in with me a fresh cup of coffee. He made his daddy smile. I love those kids!

I want to resemble Evan more! I want to think less about me, and more about God. Can you imagine what it might look like if we all met Him first thing in the morning and asked “What can I do to help today?”  What would the world look like if we carried that attitude into the afternoon offering our services  then? Think people might wonder what motivates us? Think people might be a little more open to our faith and our Savior? It might negate the “Church Lady” image Saturday Night Live made famous in the 80’s!

I bet if we have that attitude today (and every day), people WOULD notice….and we’d make our “Daddy” smile!…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And He said to them, “Go into all the world and proclaim the gospel to the whole creation.”  (Mark 16:15)

