God Knows Your Future

by kingteamdad

RAMBLINGS from Lacy’s dad – Lacy likes to watch scary movies. She sometimes watches them with a blanket pulled up to her eyes, but she does watch them.

I remember one time in particular that I sat down with her to watch “Jaws”. Seems like it was just before we were heading out west to California. Kris had even lined up having Lacy take some surfing lessons. As the movie was starting I decided to pop some popcorn. If you have seen the movie you know there are numerous scenes that scare you. Being one that has seen it several times, I was privy to when they would happen. Bringing in the freshly popped popcorn, I just happened to time things perfectly to take my right hand and lightly sink my fingernails into the side of Lacy’s neck, scaring her in to next week!!  I am pretty sure the neighbors 200 yards away heard her scream!! (Now that I think about it, she doesn’t invite me to watch scary movies with her anymore.)

Knowing how the movie ended, Lacy could have simply asked me what was going to happen, and I would have told her. (I probably would have left one scary scene out just to take advantage of the element of surprise.)  Instead, she told me not to tell her so she could be surprised.

In some ways we do the same thing. Seldom do we take the time to ask God for guidance or wisdom. He knows how our story ends. He knows every nuance of the plot. The difference is He can step in and change or rewrite any of it that He wants to. If we ask Him, He can steer us in the right direction, even preparing our path, and help us avoid pitfalls along the way. But we are often like headstrong kids who like to say “I can do it Daddy!”

Instead, we really should seek His wisdom each day. Asking for the right doors to be opened, for wisdom and patience, and thanking Him for what He did for us the day before.

I don’t want to be like the stereotypical man in the movies, that doesn’t ask for directions, and gets lost, usually resulting in getting into a major mess. I will be the first to admit, left up to my own desires and whims, I can get in “that” mess in a hurry!….

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Call to me and I will answer you, and will tell you great and hidden things that you have not known.  (Jeremiah 33:3)

