You Can’t Hide From God

by kingteamdad

“The only man who never makes mistakes is the man who never does anything.” – Theodore Roosevelt

RAMBLINGS from Lacy’s dad To this day some of my favorite TV shows of all time involve names like Carol Burnett, Andy Griffith, and Lucille Ball. Some of my favorite characters come from those shows in the 60’s and 70’s. We have many of them on CD and laugh at them over and over.

The Beverly Hillbillies was a show I got a kick out of for several reasons. I could easily see my mom playing Granny! (Don’t tell her I said that, or she will chase me with a broom!) Our outdoor loving, animal loving, cement pond loving, slingshot toting Lacy, reminds me of Ellie May. One day I asked her to talk like Ellie May and say, “I broke the China Cabinet, I’m sure sorry Paw”. Upon hearing her draw out the “Pawww”, I busted out laughing. Lacy was of course delighted she made her “paw” laugh that hard.

Months later I can almost guess the moment and situation Lacy will use her “Ellie May” voice. It’s not too often, but typically when we are on one of our drives.  Now I don’t bust out laughing, but I do get a big smile on my face. Lacy in turn smiles just as big when she gets that reaction from me.

I drove by a sign the other day that said “Have you made God smile today?” As I drove past the little church, I thought to myself that God already knows everything. He knew I would be writing this at the beginning of time.  If He has known it for that long, would He still smile?

Maybe, just maybe, it’s like Lacy and me. Now after hearing her say it dozens of times, I’m usually not surprised when I hear her “Ellie May” voice saying “Pawww”. Yet it makes me smile every time. Why? Because I know she is doing it to please me… And that’s whats going to make God smile today….

IMG_3660

Nothing in all creation is hidden from God’s sight. Everything is uncovered and laid bare before the eyes of Him to whom we must give account. (Hebrews 4:13)

