God Brings Good Out of Bad

by kingteamdad

This is the reason we never lose heart. These troubles which are temporary are winning for us a permanent, a glorious and solid reward out of proportion to our pain. So we don’t look at the temporary situation. We look beyond to see the eternal benefits.” (2 Corinthians 4:16-17 Phillips)

Ramblings from Connor’s dad – I enjoy running, preferably in shorter distances, but I do enjoy it. When I decided to run a marathon, I quickly moved outside that enjoyable range. I remember for weeks and weeks dreading each Saturday as I got up earlier and earlier, so we could get our run in before it got too  hot. As the weeks wore on, I remember the blisters, the aches and pains, and the pure exhaustion at the end of those long Saturday runs.

Several times I asked myself if I knew what I was doing and was it worth it. Each time I started to doubt, question the sacrifice, or the aches and pains, I would visualize the finish line. I pictured crossing, with Kris watching, and then being given a medal to go around my neck signifying I had run the race and finished. The closer I got to the actual marathon, and the further we ran, the more I had to reassure myself that it was worth it. Because of my schedule, I was getting up some mornings at 4:00 to run. More then once I heard Kris say I was “burning the candle at both ends”.

I remember the determination the first time we went to Chicago to run a marathon. As the fatigue set in, I kept picturing my goal – the finish line. I remember getting to the half way point and thinking “We are only half way done!”  Seeing Kris numerous times along the route kept me going.  After all her patience with my training schedule, and whining, I did not want to fail her. Finishing the race was even more euphoric then I had imagined!

For us believers, isn’t our time here on earth similar? After all, Paul wrote that we are running a race. Thankfully it is called our Christian “Walk”, and not “run”, because I think God is more concerned with us making it to the finish line then how fast we get there. 🙂  There will be some obstacles along the way. There will be times the road ahead of us is uphill. There might be some “twisted ankles” and “blisters” we work through as we run our race. But we need to remind ourselves there is a finish line, and we will be welcomed by our Heavenly Father when we get there. I am confident if we run the race to the best of our ability, enduring the trials along the way, it will be infinitely more euphoric at His finish line…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In all this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials. These have come so that the proven genuineness of your faith—of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire—may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed. (1 Peter 1:6-7)

