Choices Control Your Calendar

by kingteamdad

IMG_2921

RAMBLINGS From Evan’s dad [with snippets from his brother] – Today we have an important meeting with the State about a new product. Last evening I came home from work, read a quick bio on the individual we are meeting, took the boys out for sushi, [washed the car] and then played an hour of video games with my oldest.

Did I do my necessary prep work for this meeting? Yes. Have I been praying about it?  Sure. Am I hoping it goes well? Absolutely! But all work and no play makes Jack a stressed out dude…and a lousy dad and husband. So I am careful to not capitalize on work, at the expense of my faith or my family. Do I work hard? I think so. This morning I got up an hour before I “needed to”, so I could spend time reading, praying, listening, and thinking. [He’s an inspiration to us kids.] If what I believe is true, and God did create us, loves us enough to let His Son die in our place, and wants to have a relationship with us, then I should get up early so I can hang out with Him!

I really wish I could sleep in another hour, especially considering that I went to sleep on the wrong side of midnight! [Yeah, sorry about that…] But I find if I don’t get up early, life happens. Reminds me of the time as newlyweds when Kris asked me if I wanted to have a cup of coffee with her. I said sure and then proceeded to work a few more minutes. By the time I got to her, the coffee was cold, and she was hot. [I’m taking notes here.] I picture God sitting at the table with me a fresh cup of coffee, patiently waiting. [I just envisioned having a college-style coffee cup philosophy session with God, wouldn’t that be mind-boggling?] Many a morning, the coffee gets poured out cold and stale, because I am too busy!

[Unfortunately, I tend to find myself in a similar position. I hate being late, and, as such, I feel the compulsive need to leave up to an hour early for things like school or work. Problem is, many a day I plan to have a devotion and then end up feeling rushed even if I still have a half-hour until I need to leave! Clearly, I end up not giving God the attention He deserves and regretting it later when I’m pacing at my destination for twenty minutes waiting for it to start.]

My prayer today is that I find balance in my day. After I finish hanging out with my Father, I pray I will have a productive day at work as I do my best Jesus imitation. I pray when I get home, I will leave work in the car, and love on my family, again doing my best Jesus imitation. I pray if God lets me see the light of tomorrow, I will do it again….

And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up. So then, as we have opportunity, let us do good to everyone, and especially to those who are of the household of faith. (Galatians 6:9-10)

