Choosing A Simpler Life

by kingteamdad

RAMBLINGS from Lacy’s dad – Last evening after dinner Lacy told me we needed to go put gas in the Jeep. Translation: She wanted to go ride around for a while. Unfortunately, I had some unfinished computer work to do responding to two different emails…so we went 5 minutes down the street for gas, and got home 75 minutes later.

As we were driving around listening to music and taking in the countryside, I suggested we check with Connor to see if he’d like to ride around with us. Lacy gave me that “do we have to?” look. I reminded her that in less then three weeks he would be leaving for college. She suddenly became very inclusive and encouraged me to ask him.IMG_3569

Yesterday at the office one of my newer associates walked in and sit down to talk, as I was working on the computer trying to get some important info out for a meeting on Thursday. We talked for a minute before he planned to head out and work. I could see he needed encouragement, and five minutes later we were in my car together talking and working together for the next four hours. When I dropped him back off at his car, he sincerely thanked me for helping him do more in that afternoon then he could in a two months by himself.

I’m not sure he was accurate, but there were a few people I knew that he got to speak with and might not have otherwise. None the less, it seemed to help.

In both situations I had legitimate stuff to do, yet tabled it for others. At those moments I felt like they needed me more then my work did. I have found that work is always there. It is selfish, and demanding, and would prefer my attention 24/7. I also realize when I die and go to meet my Saviour, that is not necessarily the work He will be interested in.

Surprisingly, this morning I have work waiting on me again. It cries for me from my Inbox. It petitions me for time from my calendar. But after reading Solomon’s ancient writings I am reminded that there is a time for everything. Today he might say, “There is a time for email and there is a time for Facebook, there is a time for work and there is a time for play, there is a time for meetings and there is a time for riding, there is a time for man and there is a time for God….”

For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven: a time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted; a time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up; a time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance;  (Ecclesiastes 3:1-4)

