Don’t Understand?…Trust GOD

by kingteamdad

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.” (Proverbs 3:5-6)

Ramblings from Connor’s dad [with snippets from Ted’s son]– Recently Connor was driving across town to see his cousin Jacob. I gave him some specific directions on how to get there [“now when you get down to the intersection, you’re gonna see a chicken on your left but just keep a going”]. The drive was probably 60 miles in Atlanta traffic, but proved to be uneventful.

Luckily Connor did not have to remember every turn I told him for his 60 mile trip.  The car he was driving had GPS in it with real time traffic. If it saw a better way to take, it would re-route him. I look back at when I was his age. We had those bulky folding maps that you had to pull over from time to time to review. Heaven forbid you ever drive with someone else navigating who held it upside down or just couldn’t read it. Those old maps were fairly correct when they were printed. But if you had one a few years old, it did not have the ability to tell you about new construction or delays.

I do have to admit the GPS in several of our cars sometime have moments where they want to “re-compute”. Last week the GPS was taking me across town up near Nashville. It “spazzed” out at one point and decided my route should be circling the little town square over and over [sounds kind of like some earthly “good people” who try to guide us].  After the third loop, I said to myself, “Self, this don’t look right!” I glanced at the GPS and veered off course in the direction I knew I needed to head. Finally, it got over its “moment” and correctly guided me the remainder of the way.

I am so glad that God isn’t like that. His ways are always right. He is the epitome of “real-time” traffic, knowing the bumps in the road we are headed for. He even sees what is yet to happen. It reminds me when I use to stand over Connor and watch him play with his toy cars. Unlike me, not only does God anticipate my next move, He already knows the outcome if left unchecked [and, unlike ME he doesn’t take joy in leading the little cars off course]. So when I am wanting to turn and go down this road, and something inside me is telling me “DON’T”, maybe I need to listen. (Even if I think I know a better way, maybe a faster way [which has led to many a lengthy detour].) Usually when I disregard that quiet suggestion, and take my own route in life it just leads to getting lost or facing delays, or some other problem (unforeseen by me…but not God). I find the more I listen to His directions, the less accidents I have in life.

Today Father I pray that I trust You. Regardless of what my head is trying to tell me, I earnestly want to listen to You. Lead me on the path You want me to take today. Help me be patient with any delays I might encounter. [Help me to follow directions no matter how counter-intuitive they may seem.] Thank You for giving me another day to enjoy Your creation. I pray as I travel down this road called life, when You do slow me down, I will take that opportunity to smell the roses You have planted along the way!…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths. (Proverbs 3:5-6 ESV)

