Ask With the Right Attitude

by kingteamdad

“Ask and it will be given to you…”  (Matthew 7:7)

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad – My kids are pretty good about not asking or expecting name brand stuff.  I think our mission trips to impoverished areas have given them an appreciation for simpler things.

Lacy is a great example, not feeling a need to wear designer clothes.  You might catch her wearing her mom’s nice sunglasses, but that’s about the extent of it. Lacy doesn’t ask for, or expect a lot. When it came time for a new phone, she said an iPhone would be nice, but not a necessity.  She was perfectly content, instead with my hand-me-down.

So when Lacy does sincerely ask me for something, I take her request seriously. I love that girl with all my heart. So if we think she needs it, and we can afford it, it gets thoughtful consideration. Over time, I think she has gained confidence in our willingness to deliver when appropriate.

Isn’t God the same way?  Well, sorta. The big difference is He can ALWAYS deliver, it’s just a matter of IF it’s in His will. The Bible tells us in Matthew 7:7, “Ask and it will be given to you…”  So does that mean all I have to do is ask for it? Sometimes I have to remind myself that the Bible tells us a few verses earlier in Matthew 6:33, “But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.”  

Sounds like we need to be dialed in to Him and His will, when we are praying. We also need to remind ourselves with confidence, how big our “DADDY” is!

I find now when I pray, I make my requests, and often wrap up with the Lord’s Prayer.  Just as Jesus did, I pray that His will be done.  I find myself more often now thanking Him for the daily bread He gave me yesterday, and asking for it again today…confident He will provide it. As much as I love my kids, He loves His kids infinitely more. I need to grow not just in my faith of what He can do, but what He WILL do!…

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him. But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea that is driven and tossed by the wind.   (James 1:5-6)

