A Guide to Help You Decide

by kingteamdad

There is a way that seems right to a man, but in the end it leads to death.” (Proverbs 14:12 NIV)

Ramblings from Connor’s dad – Earlier this week I ran by my favorite place to get a BLT. While there I bumped into an old roommate and we started reflecting on our past 25 years. Gary is a strong Christian and in the medical arena, similar to me. I went the way of implants and devices, he stayed pharma.

We talked about our highs and many lows in our careers. We both are strong believers, with Godly wives, and have consistently sought God’s will. We contemplated why God might let us hit some of the bumps in the road, we have hit. We agreed that we prayed about things, discussed them with our spouses, and prayed about them some more. We petitioned God, somehow got the green light, and then in numerous situations, had things derail.

I read a quote the other day that said basically “when we think things are falling to pieces, their actually falling into place”.

Maybe God gave me the green light to start down the road. As I approached another intersection, He gave me another green light because He wanted me in that zip code. However, as I got to the next intersection, He threw up a red-light or maybe a detour sign. Maybe He knew coming down that stretch of road would help me get closer to Him. And, maybe He kept me from continuing down that “promising” road…because the bridge was out in a blind curve, and He knew it would be devastating for me.

On the other hand, maybe it seemed like such a good fit, that my prayer was actually more like me mumbling to Him where I was going as I walked out the door with my keys. Maybe I didn’t bother really listening to Him, because it seemed so good it just had to be His will. Maybe it was never His will because He knew what would happen if I went down that road….

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There is a way that seems right to a man, but in the end it leads to death. (Proverbs 14:12)

