Convictions Give Purpose

by kingteamdad

RAMBLINGS from Evan’s dad – Over the years I have come across six or seven fires I either helped put out, warned the people, or called for some of our country’s real heroes, firefighters.  One particular time before cell phones I had to go find a policeman when I came upon a bad accident. Power lines were down and the power pole was in the front seat. By the time I got back, the car’s engine  had caught on fire. I remember fighting it with the policeman with our extinguishers as the power “stuff” dangled precariously over us. Then I used a flashlight to watch the transformer swing above our heads as the police officer tended to the driver until the firetrucks arrived.

I look back and guess in some small way I stepped outside my comfort zone. Driving by I knew the driver of the car was in trouble and needed help. I didn’t pass it off and say “someone else will come by and do it”, or say “I am in too big a hurry”. I just did what hopefully anyone would do.

Why don’t I consistently have the same kind of conviction to stop and help those who are as badly in need, spiritually? How many “wrecks” have I walked by on a street corner?  How many “accidents” have I sat next to, and not wanted to intrude?  Some of those times I truly did not see the “wreck”. Other times though, the Holy Spirit clearly pointed them out to me, but I am embarrassed to say I didn’t want to “get my hands dirty”, or be inconvenienced! Do I not have the same spiritual conviction as I do physical conviction?  If I did, would I find more purpose?

Father, I am so sorry for being very willing to be a rubber-necker, but seldom a first-responder for You! I know from looking at history, and Your Word, that none of us get out of this alive.  Spiritual wrecks litter my path everyday. I pray if I run across one today, You will find me useful!  Thank You for saving this “spiritual wreck” 27 years ago!…

 IMG_1122

Because our gospel came to you not only in word, but also in power and in the Holy Spirit and with full conviction. You know what kind of men we proved to be among you for your sake. (1 Thessalonians 1:5)

